top of page

Settling In

Things are finally settling down a bit for me here. The past two weeks have been nonstop daytrips and planning and nights out, but with classes starting to hit their stride I’ve had to pull back on the reigns a bit. It’s really easy to get swept up in the excitement of being in a new country. There’s a constant pressure to always be doing something amazing, something to ensure that you’re making the most of your time abroad. However, the reality is that not every week can hold some grand adventure exploring the farthest reaches of your home country. Some weeks aren’t going to seem like anything to write home about, but during those weeks I’d encourage other study abroad students to do what I did, and take some time by yourself to more thoroughly explore your hometown. Find some new restaurants you want to introduce your flatmates to, or take some pictures of the things that you didn’t have the time to slow down and really look at before.

Besides my classes and tutorials, I chose to use my week exploring downtown Dunedin. I found my way to the Saturday morning farmer’s market, and was able to purchase items that I definitely haven’t been able to find in the supermarkets around where I live. There was a mix of local and more exotic foods available for purchase, and I made a great buy in some different sauces and hummuses to spice up my dinners. In taking the time to do this, I’ve found something that I hope to make a part of my weekly routine while I’m here in Dunedin. The farmer’s market is a chance to interact more closely with locals, as well as a good motivator to get out of bed before ten on a Saturday. I also found time to spend a few hours in the local botanical garden near my flat. The garden is much bigger than what I would have first imagined. I found out that they have concerts in the park weekly, I found a café that overlooks the gardens and has some great coffee, and I found an aviary! All experiences that I would not have had if I hadn’t taken the time to try and get to know the city I’m living in. The moral here is, don’t let the pressure to do travel or do something incredible stop you from enjoying the little quirks of the town you find yourself in. Not every week can be newsworthy, and that’s okay because it’s all a part of the greater study abroad adventure.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page